Notable Reviews for
Follow That Mouse

Sunday, December 26, 2010

Follow That Mouse!


Follow That Mouse

Henry Melton

Wire Rim Books, www.wirerimbooks.com

Hutto, Texas

2010, ISBN: 978-0-9802253-7-2

Paperback, pp. 263, USA $ 14.95

Reviewed by Liana Metal

http://lianastories.blogspot.com

Very Highly Recommended


Henry Melton, author of the Darrel Award-winning Emperor Dad and the Eleanor Cameron/Golden Duck winning Lighter Than Air has, once more, given us an exciting novel for young adults.


Follow That Mouse is about Dot, a young girl, and her home town, and Ned from the next ranch, who get involved in a sudden change of the town. Everybody seems to show signs of irrational rage, even the animals and only the old shaman can offer a solution. Then a strange mouse appears and Dot learns a big secret! What is that secret? What is going to happen?


This book is gripping, simple to read and educational, and offers readers a good enjoyable read. It caters to young adults as all the previous novels written by Henry Melton, but, still it can be read by everyone who loves science fiction, mystery and action. It is available from Ingram and online bookstores. Contact the author at www.wirerimbooks.com


Posted by Liana at 1:55 AM


THURSDAY, OCTOBER 28, 2010

Follow That Mouse



Author: Henry Melton



Summary: Dot Comal loved her home, although the Utah ranching community of Ranch Exit was too small to call a 'town'. She had her horse, Pokey, and her father to care for, and Ned from the next ranch over was comfortable to be around when he showed up on his motorcycle. But things were changing. The animals, and even her father, were showing signs of a growing irrational rage. Only Watson Winekia, the old Paiute shaman, claimed any knowledge of what was happening, but he was too old and he expected Dot to heal the valley. She was at a loss, until a strange mouse led her to bigger secrets than she'd ever imagined, hidden below her feet. She had to wield mysteries hidden for decades, quickly, before her home town and everything she loved was wiped off the map!


Review: It was a science-fiction novel that I was reluctant to try out at first since I'm not too much into sci-fi, but I was surprised.


The plot was very unique and mind-boggling. This is kind of refreshing since there are so many mainstream books being pumped out right out that just regurgitate storylines. Although it is sci-fi, it didn't feel extremely fantastical or out there because it had a realistic set up. Dot's world didn't change overnight, but there were signs and clues which foreshadowed a bigger-than-her conflict.


I really liked the characters becuase I felt that they weren't stereotypical. Dot isn't some amazing superhero with unknown powers who is arrogant about her abilities. She works together with Ned Kelso and Carl to fix Ranch Exit's problems.


The conflict starts out seeming supernatural, but then it is rationally explained making it believable. The human mind is toyed with throughout the story and there is plenty of confusion in the characters about the truth and what they are being forced to believe.


Although the plot was great, the characters were unique and likable, and the writing was engaging from the very first page, there were a few rough spots. The "magic" being worked in the valley causes amnesia in the main characters several times and then they regain their memories. It is part of the plot, but it can get very hard to follow the story. Breaks could be easily missed, confusing the reader and the organization lacked a little something. As long as you pay attention and read it without putting it down long periods of time, it should be fairly easy to enjoy the book.


I would recommend it to Sci-Fi fans as well as those who love down-to-earth characters.


Rating: 1 2 3 3.5 4 5


Author Blog: http://henrymelton.blogspot.com/


Buy the Book: http://www.amazon.com/Follow-That-Mouse-Henry-Melton/dp/098022537X/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpi_8


http://www.amazon.com/Henry-Melton/e/B001KE850M/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1



POSTED BY (: ISA :) AT 12:44 PM

LABELS: BOOKS




Follow That Mouse – Henry Melton

Posted by Benjie at 8:01 PM


©2010 Wire Rim Books, Hutto, Texas


After an outing into a different series (debut “Home Planet Adventures” story Pixie Dust), Melton is back with a new “Small Towns, Big Ideas” story. This time with the smallest of towns—Ranch Exit, Utah—and the biggest of ideas—save the world.


Most of Melton’s stories fit fairly easily into the Science Fiction category, others are more in line with the Fantasy genre. Follow That Mouse brings together the best of both these worlds—the science, and the fantasy.


Dorothy Comal (Dot Com to her friends) and her friend Ned Kelso stumble onto a war of wizards that threatens to wipe Ranch Exit completely off the map. And this while they are working on school projects designed to put it on the map.


If everything works out, they’ll save not only Ranch Exit, but also the world, and find each other in the process. You’ll like this story, and it even has dancing mice! (five reading glasses, this is Henry Melton at his best. More awards in the future?)


—Benjamin Potter, October 7, 2010





 

Labels: Henry Melton, Small Towns/Big Ideas, Young Adult


MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010

Follow that Mouse




Follow that Mouse is the newest release by YA sci-fi author Henry Melton.


Ranch Exit is a town that is too small to really be classified a town. It gains its name by the highway sign and is home to a one-room schoolhouse and a small spattering of residents. One of these residents is teenager Dot Comal, who personally loves her home and is quite defensive of it.


But in a place where nothing ever really happens, besides the continually odd signs that the town's enigmatic and strange billionaire hires Dot's father to put up around Ranch Exit, unusual occurrences are easily spotted. So when the animals begin to act erratically and more violently than ever before, Dot and her best friend Ned notice.


However, it's when Dot's own father and other residents of Ranch Exit start acting out of character, resorting to hostility and physical combat when they were previously known for their easygoing manner - Dot and Ned start to get really concerned. The old Paiute shaman that wanders around the town seems to know something is out of the ordinary, but only tells Dot to "heal the valley". Well, Dot has no idea how that is supposed to help... but she starts wondering if she needs to pay more attention to little Duncan (one of Ranch Exit's youngest children) and his "dwarf" that lives underground and maybe follow a certain mouse that seems quite persistent in getting her somewhere, despite being a, well, mouse.


As a big fan of Henry Melton's previous books Golden Girl and Pixie Dust, I was quite excited to read this new release and let me just say right off that I was not disappointed one bit!


In Dot Comal we have a very unique, charming, grounded protagonist - a refreshing change in YA. Even more rare is the truly tiny speck of a home town the entire novel takes place in. There is something honestly fun in reading such originality.


There is next to no technology in the Comal home, let alone all of Ranch Exit. Dot's house doesn't even have telephone - making Dot all the more sympathetic and relatable, especially with all the hometown pride Dot has.


Dot's likability is enhanced by her maturity, confidence, and niceness - so that when the quiet, surprisingly suspenseful atmospheric quality of Follow that Mouse kicks in, I am already invested in the characters.


The slow, steady build of tension builds in the early chapters, letting the plot gain traction and a quality of believability, even with its tiptoeing into fantasy territory (which anyone who reads my blog on a regular basis know is no problem with me!)


With the spooky sense of the novel, I begin to feel I am just as secluded from the world as the characters in Ranch Exit are! Follow that Mouse is sprinkled with interesting, seemingly factual info, while the mysterious impression of odd events turns more serious and gives way to a gripping, constantly evolving (literally!) story that is both intelligent and thought-provoking, disturbing and startling in its revelations.


Ned and Dot's relationship is comfortable and real, and the revealed villain has a classic, yet distinctive and creative feel to it - not in a comical sense, to be clear, as this villain is BAD.


I know I have not given much plot information, which might make it hard to decide if you'd like to read it - but I have to encourage you to realize the importance of being spoiler-free! This is a truly unpredictable, refreshing, and super smart YA sci-fi/fantasy novel that is entertaining, and at the same time expects you to exercise your brain.


Follow that Mouse is surprising right up to the end, and keeps you guessing just as long. I highly recommend it!!!


Quick note: There will be a special Friday review this week! So check back!!! :)


Posted by Angie L

at 5:00 AM



Saturday, September 25, 2010

Follow that Mouse -- Henry Melton



I've reviewed several of Henry Melton's books in the past (most recently here), and they've all been science fiction.  I'd call Follow that Mouse a fantasy.  Or a science fantasy.  I've never been sure of the definitions of science fiction and fantasy, however, so I usually use SF as an abbreviation that covers everything. 



Ranch Exit is the smallest town in Utah, and strange things are happening.  Dot Comal notices.  There's a mouse that's not afraid of her.  People (and animals) are changing.  The mice seem to be trying to communicate with Dot.  Her own father sometimes shows uncontrolled rage.  An eccentric millionaire hires men to dress in uniforms and make crop circles.  And that's not all.  The old Indian shaman might know what's going on, but he's not telling.



In other words there are plenty of mysteries to be solved, and Dot and her friend Ned are just the ones to solve them, beginning with the Man Under the Mountain.  Once they find him, things really get complicated.



This is another fast-moving, entertaining story from Henry Melton.  There's even a little touch of romance.  Check it out.


Posted by Bill Crider at 10:00 AM





THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2010

Review (41) Follow That Mouse by Henry Melton




Book: Follow That Mouse by Henry Melton



Published: August 25th 2010 by Wire Rim Books



Synopsis (From Goodreads): Dot Comal loved her home town, although the Utah ranching community of Ranch Exit was too small to call a 'town'. She had her horse, Pokey, and her father to care for, and Ned from the next ranch over was comfortable to be around when he showed up on his motorcycle. But things were changing. The animals, and even her father, were showing signs of a growing irrational rage. Only Watson Winekia, the old Paiute shaman claimed any knowledge of what was happening, but he was too old and he expected Dot to heal the valley. She was at a loss, until a strange mouse led her to bigger secrets than she’d ever imagined, hidden below her feet. She had to wield mysteries hidden for decades quickly, before her home town and everything she loved was wiped off the map!Hang on to your reality, because Henry Melton, award winning author of the YA adventures Emperor Dad and Lighter Than Air, takes us on an adventure just on the other side of the line into fantasy.



Rating:



In the small ranching community of Ranch Exit, nothing exciting ever happens. Dot Comal lives a happy and comfortable life in her home town until she begins to notice the little brown mouse that watches her from the top of the barrel of feeding grain every time she feeds her horse Pokey. Her best friend Ned Kelso believe's that the school in Ranch Exit may in fact be the smallest school in the country! In order for the school to gain recognition for its size, Ned decides to make a website for Ranch Exit.



While working on the website, he goes around Ranch Exit and takes pictures of the things he sees, including the bizarre signs that say "Lizard Crossing" and "Honorary Forest". But Ned also starts to notice strange things happening in Ranch Exit, from the pictures that he takes. Mr. Mort, the mysterious rich man who lives in Ranch Exit hires a few of the men in the town to help him in his strange projects. One by one the men begin to have unexplainable rage and anger which leads them to become dangerous.



Dot and Ned are the only ones who seem to realize the mysterious things occurring in their town but with the help of a old and wise Wizard,they may just save their little town from chaos... such as being wiped off the map of Utah.



I really enjoyed this book! This is the 2nd book that I've read from Henry Melton and I can definitely say that this book was better then the first book that I read! It was a very refreshing and rather original Science Fiction story mixed with the perfect amount of Fantasy. The characters were very likable and the setting of Ranch Exit is very interesting and mysterious! Certain parts of the story even left me thinking about the many crazy theories that we hear about how the government has all of these secret weapons! Now the question is... are they real? 



I definitely recommend this book to all my followers! Check this out! It's a very interesting Science Fiction book!